How To Get BLS Certified?

Basic Life Support (BLS) certification is a valuable credential for healthcare professionals and anyone who wants to be prepared to respond effectively in cardiac emergencies. BLS includes cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and the use of automated external defibrillators (AEDs). Here's a step-by-step guide on how to get BLS certified:

1. Determine Your Eligibility:

  • BLS certification is typically open to healthcare professionals such as doctors, nurses, paramedics, and EMTs. It is also suitable for individuals in non-healthcare professions who want to be prepared for emergencies.

2. Choose a Recognized Provider:

  • Select a reputable BLS certification provider. Ensure that the provider you choose is recognized by your employer or institution, as different organizations may have specific requirements.

3. Select the BLS Course Format:

  • BLS courses are available in different formats, including:
    • In-person classes: Traditional classroom-based training with an instructor.
    • Blended courses: A combination of online learning and an in-person skills assessment.
    • Fully online courses: Allows you to complete all training online, including skills assessment for certification.

4. Enroll in a BLS Course:

  • Register for a BLS course with your chosen provider. You may need to complete an online registration, pay a course fee, and select a convenient class date and location if you opt for in-person or blended courses.

5. Complete the Course Requirements:

  • Depending on the course format you choose, complete the following requirements:
    • In-person classes: Attend the scheduled class, participate in hands-on skills training, and pass the certification exam.
    • Blended courses: Complete the online portion, which covers BLS theory, and then attend the in-person skills assessment to demonstrate your practical skills.
    • Fully online courses: Follow the online training modules, which include BLS theory and skills practice, and pass the online certification exam.

6. Pass the BLS Certification Exam:

  • Regardless of the course format, you will need to pass a certification exam to demonstrate your knowledge of BLS techniques and procedures.

7. Receive Your BLS Certification:

  • Upon successful completion of the course and certification exam, you will be awarded a BLS certification card. This card is typically valid for two years.

8. Renew Your Certification:

  • BLS certification expires after a set period, usually two years. To maintain your certification, you'll need to take a BLS renewal course, which includes updated information and skills practice.

9. Stay Informed and Practice:

  • Even after obtaining BLS certification, it's crucial to stay informed about the latest BLS guidelines and recommendations. Regular practice, either through skills drills or simulations, can help you maintain your proficiency.

10. Use Your Skills Responsibly: - Having BLS certification comes with a responsibility to use your skills responsibly and only in appropriate situations. Always follow local laws and regulations governing the use of AEDs and CPR.

BLS certification equips you with the knowledge and skills to respond effectively during cardiac emergencies, potentially saving lives. Whether you are a healthcare professional or someone looking to be prepared for unexpected situations, obtaining BLS certification is a proactive step toward being a life-saver in your community.

 CPR + First Aid Certification

Back to blog